Saturday, March 18, 2017

Oh Canada... Go Quebec and Ontario!

.
What ever happened top Canada...
For a few years stuck around 16th place, near the USA, and dreaming of beating Scotland or Italia, they recently lost against Argentina (normal), USA (oh well...), but Uruguay, and Brazil...!
So now they are down to 22th, behind USA, Spain, Namibia, Uruguay, Russia...
Of course they are still in front of Portugal, Belgium and Korea, but for how long...?

The team is made up of mostly western Canadian in the name of cheaper travels when practicing, but seeing the last 3 games you wonder why they keep in the team anyone making more than 2 handling errors. If your hands are not sure, don't play rugby, go and play soccer!
It is about time that Ontario and Quebec get more players in this team.

Sunday, March 12, 2017

New rules?

.
Watching 6 nations games, I was wondering about the new rules.
I understand that now there is no point in putting your foot behind a line and catching a live ball... new rules says you will be the one who put it behind the line! I agree mind you.
And rules for yellow and red card for tackle above the shoulders or tipping the opponent are simpler and lear: tackled opponent falls on his head = red card, and if he falls on his shoulder, yellow card if no definite intent, but red card if voluntary intent!
But what about the non written rules I am watching:
- All line outs are thrown with both feet across the touch line! and no whistle...
- All scrums introduction are thrown towards your hooker's fot, and no whistle!
I will ask for clarification to the Quebec and Canada Rugby board...

Sunday, May 29, 2016

7s Canada

Canada 7s ladies won the French tournament  yesterday, beating Australia in the final. They are now 3rd worldwide, ahead of England and France! Watch for the Olympics... And if you want to watch rugby made simple, withe clean rucks and a mix of tries by wingers, centres or 3rd lines, watch Canada ladies! Go ladies, go...

Saturday, October 10, 2015

Johann of Arc!

.
The world cup is on...
You can bet on France being in the final. Let me explain...
Three Frenchmen are officiating as referees (out of a total of 12), and they are doing pretty well so far. Incidentally,
England lost against wales, reffed by a Frenchman. And England lost against Australia, reffed by a Frenchman. Rest in peace, Johann of Arc... the smell of pyre on the market place of Rouen was stronger last week end! Just kidding... But I would still bet on a Frenchman referring the final.
PS: England did not really deserve to win anyway, mainly because they put too many young players 4 years ago in prevision of the world cup, and forgot to keep a couple of old timers to take things in hand in the last 10 minutes... experience...

As for the other games...
The best game of the last 10 years, Japan beating South Africa on the 19th of September.
Japan had never won a game in the world cup, zero (like in 0+0=), and South Africa is rated in the first three rugby teams consistently over the last 20 years. Watch the game until the last second... it's on YouTube. Pure rugby pleasure.
(please copy and paste: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NIXcEWrGtsM)

And the games they could and should have won: Canada losing against Italy and against Romania... again watch until the last minute. But Canada and all the other teams ranked 10th to 20th are playing better and better, and the gap is getting narrower between all the teams (except still New Zealand, Australia and South Africa...). For our pleasure.
If you can, go and see live any game between the first ranked 20 rugby teams.

(For results, rankings, etc...copy this address and paste: http://www.worldrugby.org/)

Sunday, March 15, 2015

France, Italy, Wales, Ireland

.
France beat Italy 29 - 0.
The less worst team won... More than 20 handling errors by each team.
These two teams will not be in the quarter finals of the world cup for sure. And they will play against each other by the way.
Well, two nice tries by France in a few seconds of light in a sleeping game.
But Wales over Ireland Saturday was the most intense game I have seen in years... non stop excellent rugby... Count these two teams in the quarter finals of the world cup!

Friday, August 15, 2014

Go Canada, Go Quebec!

.
World cup in France... for ladies. New Zealand and France were expected in the final... It will be England and Canada...
First time ever in a final for Canada.
Out of the 22 Canadian players, 7 are from Quebec, including the winger 14 who scored the more points to-date, and the full back whom, in the semi-final against France, replaced in the second half the injured scrum half (also from Quebec) and after a few minutes in the role... pretended a pass straight out of a scrum and instead sprinted 15 yards towards the goal line!
The hooker, the scrum half, the full back, a second row, a prop, etc... Bravo Rugby Quebec for the 7 Quebec players! And think that this year Rugby Quebec had to cancel the Under 18 Ladies Summer League because... there were not enough resources in the clubs, while high schools rugby teams (April thru June) are on the rise every year, for boys and girls, as parents realize that rugby is far less dangerous than Canadian Football!

This World Cup was also to my knowledge the first time that players of a Canadian national team sang a bilingual version of the Canadian Hymn, to honor the bilingual Quebecois players (French - English). Like does the hockey team in Montreal (The Canadians)...
Allez les Quebecoises! Allez le Canada! Go Canada!
No matter what the result of the final this Sunday, they have made proud all of Canada, and all of their coaches and friends in Canada including Quebec.

Note: As I already told the rugby players who are trying to convince parents to enroll their kids, just don't mention whatever happens after the game, starting at a pub, be it in Ste Anne, Ste Julie or elsewhere...! But insist on the core values, loyalty, sportsmanship, courage, discipline, teamwork and friendship. Beer is not a core value, but...

Saturday, June 22, 2013

France dominates the All Blacks but...

France beaten clearly by the All Blacks of New Zealand at their three test matches (0-30 and 8-28 in last two tests)... but France dominated scrums and line-outs...
What...? you dominate scrums and line-outs, you are trained by Philippe St Andre and Andre Lagisquet, two old glories of the French backs, and you can't score...?!?@#$@!?%
Modern international rugby seems to be more about mauls and quick pass BEFORE you go to the ground... Time to change your managers France... try an All Black like Canada, or a South African...