Saturday, September 17, 2011

Rugby - France Canada 1

Red in a leading national French newspaper: "France rugby team should not be afraid of the Canadian team....". Well not so sure...
I read that France changed 11 of their 15 starters. So it will be their first game in the world cup. Advantage Canada.
Some of these 11 new comers were not selected only because they were coming back from injuries. Advantage Canada.
Canada just did a full game against Tonga, and Tonga has bothered France in the past. Advantage Canada.
The coin toss might go for Canada as Canada and New Zealand are part of the Commonwealth and the queen face is on the coin. And if Canada chooses the field to have the wind in the second half, all is possible? Advantage Canada.
France backs can beat any team on a given day. Advantage France. And a big one...
So it could be a draw...
Wait a minute... Canadian scrum sports a few woodcutters beards which are more than impressive... Chabal come back...! Advantage Canada. And a big one... for a woodcutting competition. Or on a psychological level...?
Still a draw? there is no psychology in rugby?... answer in a few hours...




Rugby - It's a great, great day for the Irish!

What a great day for the Irish...!
A sublime defense against Australia, the winner of the Tri Nations last month, and an attack with constant support. Every player gave it all for the team, shoulder to shoulder effort...
Unrecognizable team compared to their first game. And by winning they probably sent Australia in quarter final against South Africa on October 8/9...!
And to make the day even greater, on the Montreal Irish home field (beer on tap sold all day...), the three Montreal Irish teams won their semi-finals, all advancing to the Quebec finals, which will be played on their home field in Ste Julie. If you live in Montreal, a day at the Ste Julie field on September 24 should be a must. If not, have a guiness or a Smithwick on us...!

Friday, September 16, 2011

Rugby - Japan New Zealand

A good training game for New Zealand (80 something to 7), with their best three players put to rest for minor injuries. They'll be ready for France don't worry...
I liked the minute of silence for the victims of the earthquakes in Japan and New Zealand,
I liked the Japanese try, by the smallest man on the field, after an interception,
I did not like the referee never penalising or warning New Zealand tight head prop who kept lowering the Japanese prop, NZ did not need that...
I did not like the referee cancelling the second Japanese try around the end of the second half for a possible 1 mm pass forward? when the score was around 75 to 7,
I liked the New Zealand flowing game... can't wait for New Zealand France, should be another highlight for both teams. Don't miss it on Saturday September 24...

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Rugby - USA Russia

A win 13-6 from the USA (ranked 17) against Russia (ranked 20)... but could have turned out the other way!
- the referee was fine,
- the Russian iron curtain held on surprising well, except against one early try by the USA,
- the Russian butter fingers dropped too many balls in the USA 22m,
- the USA got too many penalties (justified) for offside, side entry etc in tackle and ruck situations. This aspect of the rugby game is the hardest to master for North American players who watch American or Canadian football....
- the USA got lucky when one American arm stayed around a Russian neck for quite a few seconds... dangerous high tackle should have brought a yellow card and Russians playing 15 against 14 Americans for 10 minutes in the second half...
- the Russian kicker missed two easy penalties right in front of the posts, which could have meant a score of 13-12 for USA. So when Russia got a penalty in the last minute, they could have gone for a conversion for the win, from the 22m line, but not so easy, from the left side.
Looks like you can bet safely on Australia and Ireland for the two to advance in this group. Still, don't miss Australia - Ireland game Saturday morning...

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Rugby - O Canada

Fantastic win of Canada against Tonga! Three nice tries, against the wind in the second half, and even a missed yellow card by the referre against Tonga when he or his touch judge did not see a voluntary tripping by Tonga on the kicker.
One could have thought that Tonga had an edge for playing closer to their base (more fans) and for having already tasted the world cup with the opening game against New Zealand while it was the first game of Canada. But not so, and Tonga substituted 11 of the 15 players who fought against New Zealand, to rest them after the first war game.
As put by the Tonga captain: Canada were the best and deserve their win! Thanks...
By the way, this is also the first upset of the world cup, since Canda was rated 16 and Tonga 13...!
France - Canada next Sunday and France - Tonga on Saturday Oct 1 could prove decisive for a place in the quarter final...

Don't miss USA Russia tomorrow Thursday (early morning for North America) and Australia Ireland Saturday...

Rugby - Referree placement

If you are a rugby referee trying to stay close to the action, remember that you should not get in the way, the field is wide enough for the ball carrier and you...
(you might have to refresh the page to see past the advertising...)

http://www.videobash.com/video_show/rugby-ref-ko-14016

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Rugby - Mark in the 22m

If you are in your 22m, and the ball is kicked to your team side, you are supposed to catch the ball and shout "mark" for the referee to award you a free kick. And the oponents are not supposed to run in front of the kicker until he reaches you or you handle the ball.
In Australian rugby/football, the off-side rules are different... how high can you jump to steel a "mark" from someone waiting for the ball... look at this one...
(you might have to refresh the screen before seeing past the advertising...)

http://www.videobash.com/video_show/andrew-walker-mark-of-the-year-hq-35445

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Rugby - There'll be a welcome in the hillsides for Wales!

Wales and South Africa gave us the first full game of rugby of the world cup. \
And the referee was the best to-date, by far. For the scrum commands, for the tackles and rucks, for everything... maybe except for the penalty not given to Wales in the first half (which would have given them the victory). From the TV screen, it sure looked like the ball was inside the post, and even the Welsh kicker could not understand the decision and made the sign for a TV check...
Congratulations to Wales. They can expect a warm welcome back home in the hillsides!
The bad news is that they should probably meet Australia already in the quarter finals... but if they can duplicate their first game, all is possible.

As for South Africa, they were clearly in a day off, and can do a lot better. To be confirmed against Fiji.

Rugby - It's a great day for the Irish...

Ireland overcame USA as expected, but...
- Kick-off: ball caught in the air by USA, jumper tackled in the air by Ireland, no penalty... 15 seconds into the game: USA get the ball out of the maul and kick it far... Ireland jumps for it, and is tackled in the air by USA, no penalty... Add the poor American captain penalised for not rolling away from a ruck in the second half: referee was on the other side of the ruck, but the left arm of the captain was up in the air, v ery visible, to show he was not playing the ball, and his right arm was stuck under 400 kgs of meat (he needed medical attending after the 400 kgs were removed). In one sentence, I was not impressed by the referee...
- When the Irish were tackled, most of the time they chose to go to the ground without trying to pass the ball to a support, sometimes not there mind you... Against Australia (Sept 17), New Zealand, South Africa or England, Ireland might not survive...
It was a great day for the Irish, well... not those from Boston but those from Tipperary.
It was a great day for Guiness anyway here and there, all over the Village.

PS: I was wondering if the Irish will let their leprichons perform a jig to counter a Haka... mind you, since the lepricons are invisible to the naked eye of most of us, only the Irish players will see their jig!