Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Rugby - Oh Canada...! Japan

With a little bit of help here or there from the referee, Canada held off Japan to a tie, even missing a victory if Canadian number 3 had not retained a ball after the referee whistle...! That would have been a steal... even if Canadian defense was at times heroic. But with 31% of field occupation at half time and with 9 handling errors by half time, you can't expect to win...
Apparently both coaches were from New Zealand, having played both in the NZ team which won the world cup in 1987.
Best man of the match: forget Japan number 6 elected by I don't know whom, best man of the game was clearly Canadian number 13...! simply everywhere on attack and on defense: best game I have seen from a single player this year. If you taped the game, watch it again, only paying attention to number 13... easy to spot him: he was everywhere...!

This tie should / could / might / etc... give Canada third place in their group, meaning an automatic qualification for the 2015 world cup in London. But... let's wait for the rest of the group games...who said France will beat Tonga for sure... not me, and not for the France team I have seen so far... and with Medard still around (shifted to 15...!), one can be even more worried...

No comments:

Post a Comment